top of page

Student Spotlight: Ricardo Garcia

Former Bakersfield College student, Ricardo Garcia left school during the Spring 2022 semester because of financial and academic challenges he faced from COVID-19 “I needed to provide for my family, after all, I am a father of two baby girls,” Garcia said.

“My first semester at BC was right after high school which was back in 2015. I was not enrolled in the Fall 2022 semester.”

According to Garcia, “In 2022 for the spring semester I was taking 17 units and some resources were provided for me to stay enrolled at BC, but it just came down to a situation where my current job was not cutting it, it just wasn’t making enough.”

Garcia is a hands-on and face-to-face learner in the classroom and from his personal experience “school has everything a student needs to succeed, it just comes down to the student wanting to learn” he said.

Five years from now Garcia can see himself doing his dream career as a sports analyst. Although he left Garcia mentioned how he enjoyed going to college, “it hasn’t left my mind since I left because wanted an education for myself and to be an example for my girls” Garcia said.

“The advice I have for students in similar situations who attend school and have kids is don’t overwhelmed themselves with so many classes it’s better to go slow and steady than to try and finish fast and not finish at all.” He continued, “we need more professional and knowledgeable people in our community.”


Photo of Ricardo Garcia


Recent Posts

See All

Some new enrollment numbers lacking proper context

During the last few weeks of the spring 2022 semester of Bakersfield College's courses, Professor Naomi Rutuku mentioned to her World Literature class that summer and fall registration for the upcomin

Porterville College's response to low enrollment

Similar to colleges nationwide, Porterville College (PC) has had to combat low enrollment since COVID-19. The college has implemented several outreach programs and has started networking locally. PC’s

Student Spotlight: Melissa Round-Fredrick

Bakersfield College is slowly transitioning back to in-person classes and has lifted the mask mandate from required to recommended. First-time BC student, Melissa Round-Fedrick talks about the ways CO

bottom of page